Original antique engraving entitled “Das Capitol in Washington”
This fascinating antique German steel engraving shows the United States Capitol Building as it appeared in 1851 with the original copper-covered wooden dome designed by the architect Charles Bulfinch.
Later the building was expanded considerably, which would have left the dome out of proportion, and the famous wedding cake dome replaced this one. The old dome was removed in 1856 – just five years after this engraving was done. The new fireproof cast-iron dome that we know today was designed by architect Thomas U. Walter and finally completed in 1863 when the bronze Statue of Freedom was mounted atop it.
Original steel engraving drawn by H. Brown, engraved by E. Grünenwald. Bibliograph. Institut in Hildburghausen. 1851. A copy of this engraving is also in the collection of the Library of Congress.
Dimensions: 23 x 18 cm (full sheet)